“THE INTENTION OF LOVE AND TEARS”

* * *

Love woke me up from a dream

And told me all the beautiful things I wanted to hear.

About how I should never fear the weight of my burdens.

About how She would forever be there to comfort me

Like the soft cotton blankets of my youth.

Love wrapped her wings around me

And sang a sweet melody in my ear.

About a place of peace and tranquility,

Where running blue waters ran clear,

Where white calla lilies grew and butterflies flew near

Love gently touched me on my lips,

And promised me She would soon return.

I believed Her like I always did on nights like this,

I believed Her because I always trusted Her kiss,

I believed Her because She was my angel of promise,

I believed Her because Love is faithful and true,

Very simply I just believed Her.

But Love never came back, how mysterious could that be?

Or is it me who makes Her a mystery?

They say a man is not supposed to cry,

But how much loneliness can one man survive?

They say a man is not supposed to cry,

But how much heartbreak until I’m allowed to die?

No matter how much I sleep, no matter how much I weep,

Love never returned to me.

But a man is not supposed to cry.

© 2008 D’Marco Hill

~ by dmarcohill on September 9, 2008.

Leave a comment